Red-Eyed Blues

Well I’ve been waiting half the night
waiting for her call
but I’ve heard nothing
nothing from her at all
and I’ll keep waiting
what else can I do?
Oh yeah waiting
with these red-eyed blues

I’ve got my bourbon in a bottle
my cigarettes by my arm
wondering what she’s doing
and hoping she’s safe from harm
so I’m waiting
nothing else to do
oh yeah waiting
with these red-eyed blues

The hours pass slowly by & the
bourbon gets lower & lower
all I want is a few minutes
to help me get to know her
and I’m waiting
don’t know what else to do
oh yeah waiting
with these red-eyed blues

I’m sitting here on my own
staring at the floor
and every moment’s silence
breaks my heart a little more
but I keep waiting
waiting like a fool
oh yeah waiting
with these red-eyed blues

Is she in the arms of another?
Or somewhere all alone?
My questions could be answered
if she’d only pick up the phone
yeah I’m waiting
feelings all battered & bruised
waiting waiting waiting
with these red-eyed blues

Now I think she’s avoiding me
& I don’t understand
oh why can’t she see I
just want to be her man?
And I’m still waiting
knowing that I’ll lose
stubbornly waiting
with these red-eyed blues

[Now all I need to do is put it to music.]

Leave a Reply

